The Barbour County Courthouse is situated on Main Street in Philippi and is an attraction to visitors and residents alike. The building with its beautiful courtroom is a splendid example of how many of the judicial facilities of decades past were architectural works of art, in contrast to the uniform, more modern buildings of recent times.

The courthouse has a rich and lengthy history. It was constructed in 1903 as a replacement for the county's first courthouse, which was built in 1843 and used as a base for Union soldiers during the Civil War. In 1980, the Courthouse and Courtroom were added to the National Register of Historic Places.

With an exterior crafted of hand-cut Hummelstown stone, the Courthouse is a testament to the diligent work that went into its construction, and the care that was taken is still evident today. A restoration project got underway in 1995 to improve the original stained glass dome that has become a focal point on the building's roof. Chandeliers surround the dome, illuminating the environment in a way that's simultaneously functional and beautiful. Several years later, the restoration work was given the distinction of "Best Interior Rehabilitation Project" under the Main Street Project facilitated by the West Virginia Development Office.